Arctic Council adds six nembers, including China

The New York Times

The Arctic Council agreed on Wednesday to expand to include six new nations, including China, as observer states, as a changing climate opens the Arctic to increasing economic and political competition. The inclusion of observer states to the council came after a spirited debated at the council’s biennial meeting and reflected the growing prominence of the issues facing the region. The council includes the eight Arctic nations: Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States.

> Read more

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.