CCBC Announces New President

The Chair of the Canada China Business Council, Peter Kruyt, announced today the appointment by the board of the Council’s new President, Mr. Graham Shantz. “As the relations between Canada and China are in full development, we needed someone with deep experience with China, ready to assume the role on day one. Graham Shantz is an outstanding candidate given his business acumen and his Government experience, and we are delighted that Graham has accepted to join us.”

Graham served for over 25 years in Canada’s public service providing advice to Canadian governments, mainly on management of Canada’s relations with Asia. He has lived and worked for over 12 years in Asia, half of that in China. In Ottawa, Graham has worked in senior management positions in Global Affairs Canada, the Department of Finance and the Privy Council Office. In 2000-2001 he served as Canada’s lead negotiator for Foreign Investment Protection Agreements (FIPAs) and in 1996-1997 served as deputy chief negotiator for the Canadian team during China’s WTO accession talks. Over the past decades, Graham has been involved in numerous major bilateral visits between Canadian and Chinese leaders.

Graham has served on the Board of Directors of the Asia Pacific Foundation (2013-2016) and on the Board of Directors of the Centre for International Governance Innovation (2006-2009). He served as Canada’s Ambassador to the Kingdom of Spain (2009-2012) and ended his career in the public service in senior management positions in Global Affairs Canada’s Asia Branch.

A Mandarin speaker, Graham’s pursued his interest in China while studying economics at Goshen College in Indiana. He holds an M.A. in International Affairs from Carleton University’s Norman Paterson School of International Affairs. He also pursued language and economics studies in China, including at Beijing University and Xiamen University, under the Canada-China Scholars’ Exchange Program.

The role of President was left vacant when Peter Harder was summoned to the Senate on March 24, 2016 and became Leader of the Government in the Senate.